Film

Lion – Review&Rating

Hello everyone! Hope you’re all having a wonderful Sunday evening (yaaawn right??)! Thought I’d put up a little post, slightly off topic from the theme of Blogs I am aiming to write, by posting a Film Review. Not exactly Beauty related I know, but I haven’t seen a huge amount of publicity for this film, so thought I’d spread the word, as I think it’s a film that’s really worth the price of a Cinema Ticket (especially since the lead is Britain’s own Dev Patel – from Skins (and who can forget Slumdog Millionaire) fame no less!). Hope you enjoy my slightly off topic Blog and I really hope you all get a chance to see it.

Related image

This weekend I went to see “Lion”, the 6 time Oscar Nominated film, about a young Indian boy lost and lacking identity. Quoted from the Film’s IMDb Page, the synopsis is as follows:

“A five-year-old Indian boy gets lost on the streets of Calcutta, thousands of kilometers from home. He survives many challenges before being adopted by a couple in Australia; 25 years later, he sets out to find his lost family.”

Based on a true story, this film really did send me on a roller-coaster of emotions! I was genuinely very concerned little Saroo was going to be left in turmoil for years before his adoption by his wonderful Australian parents. Incidentally, the young boy playing Saroo as a child, is an incredible actor and has so much energy I can only imagine how he kept everyone on their toes during filming! He was so believable and endearing at the same time, I really felt the casting was perfect. His mother, played by Nicole Kidman, I felt really did represent adoptive parents to exquisitely, I felt her pain, fear and excitement just as she did.

While the acting is superb and authentically raw as a film based around this set of circumstances should be, the cinematography is exceptional; I had no idea India had such a vast and varied landscape. And, as an adult, I had never considered what life in an unfamiliar place would look to a small child, but the film illustrated this in such a perfect way, through its use of shots at ground level, I felt as though I were 3ft tall and begging for help in a place I couldn’t call home too.

I don’t want to spoil the film or give too much away, but I will say in all honesty, I cried a lot – happy tears only I promise! The ending gives the most wonderful feeling of closure, satisfaction and a sense of “faith in humanity is restored”, I was so incredibly pleased I had seen every last second. All the waiting, and all the questions I had, were answered and I could leave feeling inspired to do good myself, but to also be thankful for everything I have!
And I feel if a film can leave me with that sense of social responsibility and awareness, it has surpassed its job to entertain me – but has also educated, influenced and inspired me too.

I hope if and when you get a chance to see this, you enjoyed it as much as I did, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on it too!

 

If you’re interested in more like this, please follow me on Social Media!

Twitter – @PammyPanderson
Instagram – PammyPanderson

Lots of Love, Pammy xoxo

2 thoughts on “Lion – Review&Rating

Leave a Reply

